https://materials.pagepress.org/index.php/bse/issue/feed Biomedical Science and Engineering 2018-07-05T12:28:20+02:00 Francesca Baccino francesca.baccino@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p><strong>Biomedical Science and Engineering</strong> is an Open Access, online-only, peer-reviewed journal focusing on the publication of original manuscripts and authoritative review and opinion papers dealing with the application of engineering and technology principles and a wide range of physical, biological and chemical sciences for the design of biomaterials, scaffolds, drug delivery vehicles and biomedical sensors for regenerative medicine applications. <strong>Biomedical Science and Engineering</strong> is relevant to areas such as tissue engineering, nanomedicine, in vitro tissue modeling, cancer diagnosis and therapy, implantable devices, drug delivery, bionanotechnology and diagnostic systems.</p> <p>This journal is fully Open Access, it has currently no submission fee and no article processing charge.&nbsp;All papers are immediately published as soon as they have been accepted, by adding them to the "current" volume's Table of Contents.</p> https://materials.pagepress.org/index.php/bse/article/view/39 Drug-free antibacterial polymers for biomedical applications 2018-07-05T12:28:20+02:00 Ayesha Idrees ayeshaidrees19@gmail.com PatrĂ­cia Varela patricia.varela.martins@gmail.com Francesca Ruini francesca.ruini@polito.it Jeddah Marie Vasquez jem.vasquez@vornia.com Jochen Salber jochen.salber@hotmail.com Udo Greiser udo.greiser@vornia.com Wenxin Wang wenxin.wang@vornia.com Sean McMahon sean.mcmahon@vornia.com Susanna Sartori susanna.sartori@polito.it Gianluca Ciardelli gianluca.ciardelli@polito.it Valeria Chiono valeria.chiono@polito.it <p>Microbial colonization on biomaterials is the main cause of failure of a successful implantation. In fact, local infections can eventually evolve in severe sepsis that might finally end up in a multi-organ failure and death of the patient.&nbsp; Besides, infection has become one of the toughest problems in the medical world, as microorganisms become more resistant to known drugs. Scientific research has been focussing on exploring new strategies to combat this life-threatening problem. In this review, information was collected about currently used polymeric biomaterials in the medical field and the main bacterial infections associated with their implantation. Furthermore, drug-free strategies to overcome this complication are explored, and the existing methodology required for assessment of the antibacterial activity is also described.</p> 2018-05-10T15:26:41+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##